Facebook Twitter YouTube
Alabama Southern Foundation


Building a Stronger Southwest Alabama


The Alabama Southern Community College Foundation was formed in 1991 after Patrick Henry State Junior College in Monroeville and Hobson State Technical College in Thomasville merged to form Alabama Southern Community College. The Foundation existed as the Patrick Henry State Junior College Foundation prior to the merger. The Foundation was organized exclusively for education, scientific and charitable purposes, and specifically to assist Alabama Southern Community College, a public education instrumentality of the State of Alabama, in fulfilling and performing its educational and public service programs and activities. Dr. Reginald Sykes, President of Alabama Southern Community College, expanded the Foundation’s Board of Directors in August 2010 to include representatives from Alabama Southern’s service area.

The primary goal of the Foundation is to award scholarships to students in need of assistance. The Foundation also supports local and statewide literary initiatives, enhanced education and development in the College’s service area, and workforce development needs.

Fundraising Events
Annual Golf Tournament
Black Tie and Blue Jeans Fundraiser
Murder Mystery Dinner Theater 

Scholarships for Students
The ASCC Foundation awarded three scholarships in 2011 worth $2,000 each to returning students. A committee of two ASCC personnel and two Foundation board members looked at factors such as current grade point average, hours completed towards an associate’s degree and financial need in order to choose the recipients of these scholarships.

In July of 2013, the Alabama Southern Board of Directors proposed a Foundation Scholarship in order to increase scholarship opportunities for high school students to take advantage of the accelerated/ dual enrollment courses at ASCC. This opportunity offers high school students the opportunity to take two dual enrollment courses for the cost of one dual enrollment course. The Foundation has agreed to pay tuition and fees for the second dual enrollment course at no cost to the student.

Faculty/Staff Awards
Since 2011 Alabama Southern has awarded annual Instructor of the Year and IMPACT Awards, honoring ASCC employees and sponsored by the ASCC Foundation Board. Recipients are nominated by faculty, staff and students of ASCC. Selection is based on academic excellence, dedication and professionalism both inside and outside of the classroom.

Support the ASCC Foundation
There are many ways that you can get involved to help support our students and programs:

·         Send a donation: Checks made payable to the Alabama Southern Foundation can be sent to: P.O. Box 2000, Monroeville, AL 36461

·         Stocks & Bonds, Real Estate and Property: Gifts of appreciated securities and property can also provide tax benefits to the donor. We can help you arrange a transfer.

·         Planned gifts: Planned gifts are a great way to support the Foundation without affecting your current income or assets. There are many ways to assist the Foundation while also reducing your tax liability.

·         Personal Property: Personal property such as art, equipment or cars can be donated.

·         An Annual Scholarship: Creating a scholarship is a meaningful way to honor family or friends. Scholarships can be established with a gift of any amount. An annual scholarship is not a permanent fund and is awarded only as long as you (or others) choose to contribute to the fund. Donors can name the scholarship and select the eligibility criteria.

·         The ASCC Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable organization supporting college programs and scholarships. All contribution are tax-deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law.

·         Foundation boards members and Alabama Southern personnel are available to consult with you about your donation. Contact us today at (251) 575-8223.

Foundation Board of Directors
The Foundation Board of Directors includes the following community representatives:

Mrs. Carole J. Banks Monroeville
Mr. Paul England, Chairman Monroeville
Mr. Sam Hughston Jackson
Mr. K.J. Lazenby Monroeville
Mrs. Chrissy Nettles Monroeville
Ms. Jackie Thompson Thomasville
Ms. Mary Tucker Monroeville
Mrs. Treobye Utsey Butler
Mr. James Wheeler, Treasurer Jackson
Mrs. Sandy Hollinger Atmore
Mr. Lee Dunn Grove Hill

Dr. Reginald Sykes and Mr. Roger Chandler are voting, ex-officio members of the Board of Directors, as well as employees of Alabama Southern.




Alabama Southern Community College is an equal opportunity employer. It is the official policy of the Alabama Community College System, including postsecondary institutions under the control of the Alabama Community College System Board of Trustees, that no person shall, on the grounds of race, color, handicap, gender, religion, creed, national origin, or age, be excluded from participation in, be denied benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program, activity, or employment. Alabama Southern Community College will make reasonable accommodations for qualified disabled applicants or employees.

EEO Policy